Skip to content ↓


Miss Heath - Head of Science
Mr Lowe -Science
Miss Sumpter - Chemistry Subject Leader
Miss Bourne - Biology Subject Leader
Mr Harris - Physics Subject Leader 
Mr Pittaway
Mr Birkenhead
Mr Russell-Moyle
Mrs Horn - Senior Science Technician
Miss Leworthy - Science Technician Apprentice 


Science is about looking for answers to questions. At ICC we have based our science curriculum around this idea. The focus for the curriculum is on developing students who look to answer some bigger questions related to their future and the future of their planet. The curriculum builds on the scientific success, and failure, of the past, how it informs science now, and, on sciences role in shaping the future. This is then used to help students understand the present, and plan for their future. It has been designed to be cross-curricular, link to our local community, and continue to develop our links with other educational establishments beyond ICC.

The curriculum flows from one topic to the next, and from one year to the next. Post -16 the curriculum has been designed to flow on from KS4 regardless of whether students choose the BTEC or A level route.

Each lesson is set in a relevant context encouraging students to develop their practical and questioning skills, whilst working towards a better understanding of the questions being asked of science in today's world.

The content of the lessons is addressed via the KS 3 National curriculum for science, and AQA KS4 Trilogy science or triple science specification, AQA A level Biology, AQA A level Physics, OCR A level Chemistry, and, Pearson BTEC Level 3 in Applied Human Biology.

The careers and jobs of our students has been linked into the curriculum to ensure students are able to see the relevance of the science they study on a personal and global level.

Assessment is carried out informally each lesson and there is formal assessment at regular intervals throughout the year. The assessment takes into account the practical, mathematical, and analytical skills developed. Students are encouraged to reflect on their own level of knowledge and understanding, regularly, and this informs staff on student progress.

Science Curriculum 

Click here to view Science Curriculum 

Follow Science on Twitter  @scienceICC