Skip to content ↓

Curriculum & Overview

ICC Curriculum Model

We try to ensure that our curriculum meets the needs of young people, the expectations of universities, colleges and employers, and responds to Government legislation and advice to schools.  The school follows a two week timetable A & B.  Each year group is split in half to give 2 bands (L and R). Years 7 & 8 follow the Key Stage 3 curriculum and year’s 9, 10 & 11 follow the Key Stage 4 curriculum (GCSE). Sixth Form students follow the Key Stage 5 curriculum.

Year 7 & 8– Key Stage 3

All students are given the opportunity to study a wide range of subjects. In years 7 and 8 the subjects are as follows;

English, Mathematics, Science, Computing/ICT, French/Spanish, History, Geography, Fine Art, Art & Design(Textiles/Ceramics), Citizenship, Dance, Design Technology, Drama, Food, Music, Religious studies, & PE.

At the end of year 8 students undertake the GCSE options process.

They decide which subjects they want to study at GCSE.

Years 9, 10 & 11 – Key Stage 4

All students follow a core curriculum of English Language and Literature, Mathematics, Science, Citizenship/RE, PE and ICT.  A variety of Science courses are offered, which include Triple Science, Core and Additional Science.

In addition to the core curriculum the majority of students have made a further four option choices.  

Sixth Form Key Stage 5

Students currently receive nine hours of taught time per subject per fortnight.  There is a large range of subjects on offer covering AS,

A-Level and BTEC Level 3 programme.